Each year the Social Policy Association (SPA) calls for nominations for its annual SPA Awards, to be announced at the SPA Annual Conference in July. Read the list of winners for 2023 and previous years here

Winners of our 2023 Awards were presented by Professor Jane Millar, one of the awards judges, at our annual conference on 5th July, University of Nottingham. You can read about this year’s award winners and view a photo gallery here

We look forward to announcing details of our 2024 awards in due course. The information below refers to the 2023 awards programme and is for general reference only. 

If you have any queries about our awards programme, please contact SPA awards officer Ellen Stewart, at: ellen.stewart@strath.ac.uk.


The SPA awards aim to:

1) Advance the interests of the SPA and its members through increased reach and status

2) Recognise and endorse the work of academics who are both researching and teaching social policy, and who as SPA members contribute to advancing the discipline

3) Recognise and endorse the work of individuals and organisations who as social policy practitioners and/or advocates, are using academic work produced by the social policy academic community and/or are working with academics to promote the public understanding of social policy

Process of awards

Where the awards are made on the decision of the SPA-appointed judging panel, the panel will comprise four judges appointed by the Executive to serve for 3 years and will normally include:

  • The SPA President
  • 1 judge drawn from outside the academic community
  • 2 judges appointed from SPA membership

General rules of the Awards

Those making a nomination must do so with the full knowledge of the person being nominated. Please read the rules and criteria for each award carefully before submitting a nomination. Current members of the SPA-appointed judging panel are not eligible to nominate.

Award categories:

Previous award winners 2006-2023