The SPA Welcomes Social Policy Fellowship Appointments to the Academy of Social Sciences

The Social Policy Association (SPA) welcomes the appointment of six social policy scholars as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences and congratulates all 47 leading social scientists newly conferred with this recognition. The six new fellows associated with social policy are:

  • Professor Esther Dermott, University of Bristol
  • Professor Philip Haynes, University of Brighton
  • Professor Patricia Hyne, Sheffield Hallam University
  • Professor Misa Izuhara, University of Bristol
  • Professor Lisa Scullion, University of Salford
  • Professor Katherine Smith, University of Strathclyde

According to the Academy, fellows are selected through an independent peer review process which recognises their excellence, impact, and wider contributions. New fellows associated with the discipline of social policy also received prior nomination from the SPA.

SPA Chair, Professor Karen Rowlingson (pictured), said:

“We are delighted that six outstanding social policy scholars have been appointed as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences following their nomination by the Social Policy Association. This is deserving recognition of the excellence and impact of their work and their wider contributions to the social sciences for public benefit. Furthermore, their appointments continue the strong track record of representation enjoyed by social policy scholars within the wider social science community”.

The Academy of Social Sciences’ press release and list of all Spring 2022 Fellowship appointments can be read here.

Image: SPA Chair, Professor Karen Rowlingson