SPA Awards 2022: Contributions to Social Policy Teaching, Research and Awareness Recognised

Leading contributions to social policy teaching, research and awareness have been recognised at the 2022 Social Policy Awards. The awards are run each year by the Social Policy Association (SPA).

Award winners were announced by SPA president Baroness Lawrence (pictured) at an evening ceremony held during the SPA’s annual conference, which ran from 6-8 July in Swansea.

Winners were selected by a panel of appointed judges in categories which included book and journal publications, excellence in doctoral research, excellence in teaching, outstanding achievement, and public awareness. The full list of winners is provided below.

SPA Chair Ann-Marie Gray commented: “We were delighted to celebrate the achievements of our members at our annual conference in Swansea.  The shortlists for the awards were inspiring and highlight the significant work of our Social Policy community.   Congratulations to all this year’s winners and nominees and a very big thanks to the judging panel”.

Read the list of SPA award winners from previous years here.

Image credit: Jennifer Thomas of Swansea University


SPA Award Winners for 2022


Excellence in Doctoral Research Award

Jiaxin Liu – for the paper – “Crowding out or crowding in? The interaction between public pensions and private transfers in China


The Richard Titmuss Book Award (jointly awarded to two books in 2022)

Clare Bambra, Katherine Smith and Julia Lynch, for: The Unequal Pandemic: Covid-19 and Health Inequalities. (Policy Press)

Lydia Morris, for: The Moral Economy of Welfare and Migration: Reconfiguring Rights in Austerity Britain. (McGill-Queen’s University Press)


Policy Press Outstanding Teaching Award

Lia Levin, Senior Lecturer and Head of the Policy Practice Clinic, Tel Aviv University, Israel


Public Understanding of Social Policy Award

Jack Monroe, British food writer, journalist and activist known for campaigning on poverty issues, particularly hunger relief.


Cambridge University Press Award for Excellence in Social Policy Scholarship – Journal of Social Policy

Holguer Xavier and Jara Tamay, for the article: Second Earners and In-Work Poverty in Europe. Journal of Social Policy, Volume 50, Issue 3, July 2021, pp. 470 – 492.


Cambridge University Press Award for Excellence in Social Policy Scholarship – Social Policy & Society

Paolo Novak, for the article: Deservingness and Uneven Geographies of Asylum Accommodation. Social Policy and Society, Volume 20, Issue 3, July 2021, pp. 452 – 463.


Cambridge University Press Awards for Excellence in Social Policy Scholarship – Journal of International and Comparative Social Policy

Regina Konle-Seidl, for the article: The German Mini-Job Scheme in Comparative Research on Work and Welfare. Journal of International and Comparative Social Policy, Volume 37, Issue 3, November 2021, pp. 293 – 306.


Outstanding Achievement in Social Policy Award

Lindsay Paterson, Professor of Education Policy, University of Edinburgh